If you are planning to move, you should think twice before sharing your move on social media. It is much safer to share your moving details privately with friends and family to ensure your safety.
Sharing your upcoming move on any form of social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.) could put you at risk in a number of ways. For instance,
- It will notify people with ill intent that you won’t be at your current residence during certain times on your moving day. You could become a victim of burglary, particularly if you don’t lock your doors.
- If you notify everyone on your friend’s list that you are moving, it could make you a target for untrustworthy movers. Depending on your privacy settings, friends of your friends could see your status updates. Some of those may be owners of startup moving companies or may know someone starting a moving company, but they may not have any testimonials to show or be licensed to move in your state. Be sure to check the credentials of anyone offering to move you on social media – especially if you don’t have a prior relationship with them.
Refrain from updating your location until after you move. Doing so before you move could tip off potential burglars or thieves that you are planning to move.
If you are going to share details on your social network, change your privacy settings so that only your closest friends and relatives see what needs to be seen. Don’t share too many details publicly.
What If You Are Relocating to Another City?
If you are moving to a new city, social networks like LinkedIn are a great source for helping you to find a job in your new location. Just remember not to share the address of your new home or when you expect to move in. If you are searching for a job, simply post a general message like, “I’m moving to _______ and will be looking for a job in the _______ industry. Do you happen to know of any companies that are hiring?” In other words, keep it general.
Moving is a very exciting and stressful time so you may be anxious to share it all with your family and friends. But keep in mind that everything you post online may be viewed by individuals that you don’t want to see it – so don’t over share.